Hollowed Memories

April 8, 2014

I have not posted for a while, and there are two reasons for that. The first was that I got too disgusted with what Fred Saberhagen had done when he rewrote his Empire of the East novels. The first two books were not too badly affected, but the third, which I always felt was the weakest volume to begin with, was not improved when it made the transition from Changeling Earth to “Ardneh’s World.” I don’t plan to spend a lot of time bemoaning the author’s poor editing choices; however, I ultimately decided that I could not continue the read-along commentary without getting back to the original text, which is not so readily available, especially to someone who might want to read along with me.

The other reason that I have not had time for blogging here is that I’ve been busy. I have a regular job as physics professor, but, more importantly, I have been immersed in my own writing. I’ve been working on a science fiction novel, and that’s really what I’m posting about today. The first draft of the book, tentatively titled Hollowed Memories, is mostly complete. At this point, I have decided to start serializing the novel online, for my small cadre of readers. I plan to come out with one edited installment per week; at that rate, it may take about a year to get all the way through the narrative.

The book is hard science fiction, set on a future Earth. I don’t want to say too much more about it, since I’d like to let the motifs and narrative structure mostly speak for themselves. However, as the story develops, I would be happy to answer questions and discuss with people in the comments. Indeed, I would prefer to get lively feedback from people, because it means that people are engaging with what I’ve written.

One Response to “Hollowed Memories”

  1. CaveBear Says:

    God speed. And may the force be with you.


Leave a Reply

